What I want to be when I grow up

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” ~ John Lennon

I love this quote. I love his childhood response to the question of what he wants to be when he grows up. A question that seems to dovetail with the common imperative that I recently reflected on: one must have a career path. You must know exactly what you will be when you grow up. And how you will get there. An imperative that left me puzzled and bereft over the decades. Instead, life may be about being. Not doing. Being. And happy is a perfect state of being. Thank you, John, for the quote, which opens up possibilities in life…possibilities one can only imagine…

Your thoughts?

