Hoosier {insert your non-coastal state here} time

Time. How quickly (or slowly) things get done. These days it feels like Time is mocking me. Sneering at me, “You can’t deal with the slowness. And you think you are a Hoosier!”.

Since moving back home, I’ve encountered reverse cultural time shock.

I’m used to things getting done in a certain time frame. Appointments going quickly. Clerks taking care of items in little time. I know what I can plan on getting done. But I have been sucked into a reverse dimension here. I repeatedly hit a time wall. Time isn’t what I thought it was. Time is much longer in the middle portion of the US.

I ran smack into the wall again today. I expected a 30-minute dentist appointment. In. Say hello. Fill out paperwork. Get X-rays taken. Scrape, scrape. Thoroughly but quickly. Polish. Lots of teeth advice. And then “See you in six months!”.

Instead, it was as if I was in a time warp. At one point, the thought crossed my mind that maybe I should have taken half a day off of work.

“Baah. No. That’s ridiculous,” I told myself. And yet, time ticked by. And I realized, once again, that time has a different meaning here. Back in the Midwest. Back in the heartland. Back in the Hoosier state.

I know I am not the only one that this slowed down sense of time bothers. A few weeks into my new job, a coworker independently volunteered his frustration about the slow sense of urgency in getting anything done. “Oh good, it’s not just me,” I thought. “He’s a Hoosier too. I can be a real Hoosier and still be utterly irked by how slow everything gets done.”

So is it really reverse cultural time shock? Or a weird space-time continuum that I find myself in? A special vortex in the middle of the Hoosier state where time grinds to a halt? I’m not sure, but hey, I have all the time in the world to ponder it. As the minutes and hours of appointments, errands, and tasks tick by.

2 thoughts on “Hoosier {insert your non-coastal state here} time

  1. Delightful piece…it gave us delight…but where’d you move back from? [Not a very good word to end a sentence on!] Soo last-century town? Isolated [poorly paved?] exurbia? Hectic NYC? Car-requiring suburb? Jam-packed condo rules? A glut of rednecks or hillbillies? Too many stuffed-shirts & stiffs? Religious proselytizers? Here’s my favorite quote about time + others that your article prodded me to hunt down:

    If you want work well done, select a busy person—the other kind has no time.~Elbert Hubbard

    Time is the only thief we can’t get justice against.~Terri Guillemets

    For disappearing acts, it’s hard to beat what happens to the 8 hours supposedly left after 8 of sleep & 8 of work.~Doug Larson

    When told the reason for Daylight Saving time the old Indian said, “Only a white man would believe that you could cut a foot off the top of a blanket & sew it onto the bottom of a blanket & have a longer blanket.”~Anon.

    How long a minute is depends on which side of the bathroom door you’re on.~Zall’s 2nd Law

    Time is the coin of your life. It’s the only coin you have & only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.~Carl Sandburg

    Darn the wheel of the world! Why must it continually turn over? Where is the reverse gear?~Jack London

    Among life’s regrets is all the time wasted being early for everything.~Robert Brault, rbrault.blogspot.com [If I’m early for apptmnt (due to bus arriving & not having to wait 40 mins for it), I’ll window shop. Sitting in “waiting rm” ain’t for me.]
    zee alexi

    Like

    • Zee Alexi, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I moved back from Silicon Valley where things move much faster than in the heartland. Thanks for the various quotes about time!

      Like

Your thoughts?

