Unfolding

“So many people are shut up tight inside themselves like boxes, yet they would open up, unfolding quite wonderfully, if only you were interested in them.” ~ Sylvia Plath

Do you ever wonder about the people that you pass throughout your day? What their stories are? What they are struggling with in life? Or celebrating? What jewels lay buried deep in them? I love Sylvia Plath’s observation. It speaks to the wonderful things present in everyone. If only we took the time to engage.

2 thoughts on “Unfolding

  1. I’ve wondered about others a lot, and have been finding treasures! I’ve been finding that as I take just a second to slow down, I’m able to notice, listen to, and truly hear other people around me.
    I really liked the movie Groundhog Day, and especially one part later in the movie. The main character reveals that he’s learned about nearly everyone in the cafe, and it shows the depth of his character and compassion. (I don’t want to spoil this movie for anyone who hasn’t seen it)
    I recommend trying it out. I shared a little about my experiences with it in a post on my blog several years ago, if you’re curious:
    http://viewpacific.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/wait-ahhh-thats-all-it-takes/
    Thanks!

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughts and the link to your post. I liked your story about looking around at other people golfing around you…and seeing that they are lost in their own worlds, their own hells in some cases. On the rare occasion I have done that. I remember one particular occasion during walking meditation at a daylong Buddhist retreat. I noticed that everyone else was preoccupied during their walks, down deep into their own worlds rather than practicing mindfulness. And those worlds of theirs did not seem all that serene.

      I also liked your idea of seconds, taking an extra second to listen, to look, to engage. I have recognized the need to do this but usually after the fact. An interaction with someone may not be rushed but in hindsight, I don’t feel like I was truly present or completely engaged. An extra second or two to listen or look at them while we exchanged information might have led to making a connection with them and seeing, however briefly, into them. Into the box they have folded up tight.

      Thanks again for the thoughts. You gave me things to ponder.

      Like

Your thoughts?

