Watching life

I paused, noticing the hole by the bricks lining the path. Two little chipmunks, one smaller than the next, popped out of the hole to nervously skitter around. They raced back and forth, venturing out from the hole until something startled them. A car alarm. A passing person. And back they came.

So small. So lithe. I watched as the bigger one would stretch on its hind legs to look around, white belly exposed. Suspiciously eying me as I stood and watched. The smaller ventured out and then back. Seeking nourishment. Though the other was having none of that. A weaned youngster and a mother.

A sound caught my attention. I turned away and then back. I lost them forever. But for a brief moment I was watching life.

Your thoughts?

