Taking wrong turns

“Take wrong turns. Talk to strangers. Open unmarked doors. And if you see a group of people in a field, go find out what they are doing. Do things without always knowing how they’ll turn out. You’re curious and smart and bored, and all you see is the choice between working hard and slacking off. There are so many adventures that you miss because you’re waiting to think of a plan. To find them, look for tiny interesting choices. And remember that you are always making up the future as you go.”
― Randall Munroe, xkcd: volume 0

“Take wrong turns.” I certainly have made enough of those. Not knowing where I was going. Not even knowing that I was turning. Wrong or otherwise. Similarly, I have taken the road less traveled, though not necessarily intentionally. I just ended up on those paths. Probably by making wrong turns.

“…you are always making up the future as you go.” I am a planner by nature but the future? The future leaves me stymied. Who knows what the future will bring? Rather than making it up as I go, it unfolds as I move along the road less travelled…after taking more than a few wrong turns.

6 thoughts on “Taking wrong turns

    • You are very welcome. I actually ran across an abbreviation of this quote at a butterfly exhibit at the Fort Wayne Botanical Conservatory. Intrigued by the quote, I scribbled down the author’s name and moved on. Sometimes you encounter things of significance in the most unexpected places.

      Like

      • Amy, following your advice, I decided to have the opposite “take” on some hiccups yesterday (Saturday) than I would normally have, and as a result had a perfect, memorable and joy-filled birthday. I didn’t worry about logistics, money or time. I just went with each voice’s extemporaneous recommendation, and let others be completely in charge of the day. It could not have been any better, as a result.

        Thank you for your timely wisdom!

        Like

      • It sounds like you had a great birthday! I’m glad to hear it, but I can’t take credit for the wisdom. I think people’s words speak to us in different ways depending on where we are at. Whether it is the universe, God, or serendipity, you and the words you needed to hear came together through Randall Munroe’s quote on my blog. I am happy that my blog was the platform to facilitate that meeting. 🙂

        Like

Your thoughts?

