No wrong turnings

In one of my wanderings around Indy recently, I meandered into the Herron School of Art and Design on the IUPUI (pronounced eewwie-pooie) campus. I had been trekking the cultural trail and spied this building on the map. The name Herron caught my eye. (Those of you who follow my blog may recall my post about some street art: Don’t care. Care. The artist, Jamie Pawlus, is a graduate of the Herron School of Art and Design.)

Herron. Hmmm. I wandered through the building, which was dead quiet on a Saturday afternoon in the summer, and spotted a number of quotes about paths decorating one wall.

“There are no wrong turnings. Only paths we had not known we were meant to walk.” ~ Guy Gavriel Kay, Tigana

A slight déjà vu moment. This quote resonated with a quote I recently wrote about. About taking wrong turns. Intentionally.

I have taken wrong turns. Lots of them, one might argue. But not intentionally. While the quote I previously blogged about dealt with reality before making a wrong, urging the reader to take wrong turns on purpose, this quote reassures us after the fact. Long after we have made wrong turns. In both cases, “wrong” is clearly right…either intentionally or otherwise.

Your thoughts?

