Photo: Cacti

cacti at the Jordan Hall Greenhouse at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana

I recently discovered the Jordan Hall Greenhouse on the IU Bloomington campus. Why I never knew it was open to the public is unclear to me. I wandered through Jordan Hall, the biology building, until the doors led to places that were no longer air-conditioned. I followed the arrows on the floor through rooms, past shelves of pots, along tables of this and that until the space opened to greenhouses.

I wandered in solitude. Not a soul in sight. Just me and the plants, spending a Saturday morning together. Wandering through plants that I didn’t think I would see again. Birds of paradise. Bottlebrush trees. Pitcher plants. I made acquaintances with sensitive plants that have leaves which fold up when you touch them. I was at peace, surrounded by new friends. Absorbed in photography. Bathed in sweet. (In hindsight, perhaps a hot, humid summer date was not the best time to visit a greenhouse.) I will likely be back. I have new friends to visit.

One thought on “Photo: Cacti

Your thoughts?

