Stillwater Crossing

As I turned a corner and looked up, I was mesmerized. The painting of a bison crossing a body of water was so captivating. So lifelike. The bison itself was a work of art, but the way the water around the animal was depicted was so real. As if you could see the bison moving through the water, the waves that started at its shoulders and moved back, indicating forward movement. While the water in front of the bison was as smooth and silent as undisturbed water. With two aspen leaves floating untouched in front of the animal.

I found myself seated on the bench in front of the painting for some time. I pulled myself away to wander through the rest of the collections at the Eiteljorg Museum. At the end of my visit at the museum, I made a circuit of the pieces of art that caught my eye. And found myself back in front of Daniel Smith’s Stillwater Crossing. I tend to find artwork that draws me back time and time again to a museum. They become old friends that I seek out whenever I visit. I think Stillwater Crossing will be one of those friends.

Your thoughts?

