Sometimes I long for

Friends and enemies both crowd around,
Blocking out the light,
Letting in the darkness.
I dodge and weave,
Looking for space where neither exists.

I seek peace,
Yet it is easy to sink deep into the abyss.
Should I plumb the depths,
Or stick to the sidelines watching them come and go?

Sometimes I long for no light or darkness.

Thought after thought continue to flow by,
Like a never-ending river.
The river is turbulent, then calm.
The noise it produces belies its size,
Leading me into the depths of its shallows.

I seek peace,
Yet it is easy to sink deep into the river.
Should I go into the water,
Or stand by the shore watching it go by?

Sometimes I long for no river.

Your thoughts?

