Lakota Indian Prayer

“In my youth I respected the world and life, I needed not anything but peace of heart;
And yet I changed despite myself and believed in Iktumi’s lies.
He seemed to know all the truth, he promised to make me happy.

He made me ask Wakantanka for wealth, that I might have power;
I was given poverty, that I might find my inner strength.

I asked for fame, so that others may know me;
I was given obscurity, that I may know myself.

I asked for a person to love that I might never be alone;
I was given the life of a hermit, that I might learn to accept myself.

I asked for power, that I might achieve;
I was given weakness that I might learn to obey.

I asked for health, that I might lead a long life;
I was given infirmity, that I might appreciate each minute.

I asked Mother Earth for strength, that I might have my way;
I was given weakness, that I might feel the need for Her.

I asked to live happily, that I might enjoy life;
I was given life that I might live happily.

I received nothing I asked for, yet all my wishes came true.
Despite myself and Iktumi, my dreams were fulfilled.
I am richly blessed, more than I had ever hoped.

Thank you, Wakantanka, for what you have given me.”

~ Billy Mills

3 thoughts on “Lakota Indian Prayer

Your thoughts?

