Movie review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2

Confession. I have not seen the other Hunger Games movies. I have not read the books. I prepped for my viewing of Mockingjay, Part 2 by reading summaries of the other movie plots.

Dystopian future. After failed rebellions against the capital, the thirteen districts must each offer a child to fight to the death in annual games. OK. Got it.

Into Mockingjay, Part 2 I walked. It was not a bad movie or premise. The acting was spotty. I did not believe the relationship between Katniss and Peetra. That was not done well. Sometimes I felt as though I was missing something by not having watched the previous movies or read the books, but for the most part the movie was followable.

I did appreciate the complex situation Katniss found herself in. She was a fighter and winner, a symbol for the rebels to use in their fight to replace the power structure with their own power structure. Carnage, especially of innocents, bothered Katniss a great deal. She was faced with making tough decisions and coming out in support of either one evil or the other.

Mockingjay, Part 2 was Philip Seymour Hoffman’s last film. He died in the middle of it, which was a bit odd to realize as I watching it. I imagine the plot was modified; a letter from his character was read to Katniss probably in place of him interacting with Katniss directly.

In the end, I enjoyed the film enough—some gore and fight scenes but not overwhelming or gratuitous—enough that I will likely track down the books to read and maybe look for the previous movies.

Your thoughts?

