Disappointment

I gaze upon the disappointment visiting me.
It is a curious thing.
It came upon me so suddenly,
Surprising me.

I wonder how it happened.
And how I can move on.

I know it will sneak up on me again,
Pouncing from out of the blue.
And I will have to face it down,
And then turn away from it yet again.

Disappointment is usually fleeting—
Unless I invite it to stay.
But this time I withhold my invitation
To this unwanted guest.

Instead, I gaze upon the disappointment.
It leaves as suddenly as it came,
Slinking back into the shadows.

Your thoughts?

