Whisperings

I sat underneath a mesh of wires and small speakers overhead, listening to whispers spoken in hushed tones. The words were indistinguishable, intimate words spoken to another, meant for their ears only. The view from the second story gallery was over the trees of the 100 Acres park, bare for the winter.

Julianne Swartz’ exhibit Terrain and its setting create an aura of reverence, which drew me in to sit, listen, and ultimately ponder. What if I were one of the whisperers? My mind reflected on what words I would speak to someone in hushed tones if I had the opportunity. What would be important enough to say? And to whom?

Your thoughts?

