Art favorites: Morning at Grand Manan

I always make it a point to peer into the gallery housing Morning at Grand Manan. At my last visit, I pulled up a nearby chair to soak in the ocean. (The museum has recently begun to strategically place chairs in the galleries that patrons can move around.)

I heaved a deep sigh. A man came up to comment on the painting and me settling in for a long gaze. Ah, it reminds me of the ocean I left behind on the West Coast. He could understand, he retorted, being a native of Rhode Island. And then he moved on. Kindred spirits like ships passing in the night, or at Grand Manan.

Morning at Grand Manan
Alfred Thompson Bricher
American, 1837-1908
1878
Indianapolis Museum of Art

Your thoughts?

