Leading me astray

Thoughts follow one after the other,
Like stone after stone
On a path into a dark woods
That is overgrown with brambles.

I don’t even notice the path,
Or being led,
Until it is too late.

Now I come to my senses
And see that the immediate stones around me are scattered.
This far into the woods,
The path has become faint.

Which way did I come from?
Which thought come from which thought?
How can I get back to where I was before I entered the woods?
Can I follow the thoughts back to the first one?

The darkness has descended
In this woods thick with vegetation.
The trees have grown intertwined
With dense underbrush.

I am lost.
My thoughts have led me astray.

Your thoughts?

