Art favorites: October Blaze

October Blaze grabbed me at the entrance to the 85th Annual Juried Exhibition of Indiana Artists. The exhibition was held at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. I was passing by, on my way to enjoy the gardens in full spring bloom, but October Blaze temporarily diverted me. The colors and the technique used were unusual.

A few weeks later I found myself wandering through the Art Museum of Greater Lafayette and stopped up short at a painting that poked at my memory. The style and the technique were reminiscent…of October Blaze. Sure enough. It was another painting by Hoosier artist Jerry Points: Rainbow Woods.

I later found myself back at the exhibition in the IMA to enjoy October Blaze. Little did I realize that it would be the last time I’d enjoy the painting. As I passed by the exhibition later, the exhibition was being dismantled. The place of honor front and center that October Blaze occupied (as Best in Show) was now empty. Jerry Points had come and gone with his vibrantly beautiful painting.

October Blaze
Jerry Points
American
2016

Your thoughts?

